Peanuts Movie

Hahaha, I have to admit that I have not seen much of Charlie Brown or the Peanuts gang before. I’ve seen that awesome dance scene, though. But I don’t really know the characters or the plot. So this movie is a first for me.

And I really enjoyed it. To describe this movie in two words, charming and nice. It’s probably the nicest movie I’ve seen in a while. And I mean nice in the sense that no ones really mean. There are no antagonists. Its just a nice story about kids. Everyone likes Charlie Brown even if Charlie Brown doesn’t like Charlie Brown. There are cute Snoopy and Woodstock antics. The movie is nice.

The art style for the movie is great. It really stands out as trying to look like old-style 2D animations. Sometimes, te animations are jerky. They have constant effects that are done in 2d. The characters are constantly moving and have their own little flourishes. All over, the movie has a lot of charm and style.

The film is a slice-of-life style plot, so I really like it. I’m not going to say too much more, but it’s a nice kids story. There is a second plot running through that involves Snoopy and Woodstock. While the two plots only intersect rarely, Snoopy is constantly around the other characters. And the movie still felt decently short even with two separate plotlines running through it. The movie is a good length, though. There’s no unncessary stuff. The scenes just roll right along while leaving behind little sparkles of delight.

The only thing I found weird with this movie was who it was for. I think it’s for people who have enjoyed Peanuts for a long time. They use technology from the 80’s, and not just in a stylistic way. It does affect the plot at one point. And kids are going to need an explanation of why their phones have wires.

Still, the overall movie is good. It’s not as flashy as some other CGI films. Peanuts is homely and a good watch.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.