Baahubali 2: The Conclusion

This is something different, and maybe something that you haven’t heard of before. Baahubali 2: The Conclusion is an Indian film, one of the most expensive ones made, I believe. It is a low-fantasy epic tale about the kingdom of Mahishmati. There is no English dubbing here. It’s all subtitles here, which really helps me understand what’s going on.

But first, you might ask, where’s Baahubali 1? I will answer that I have not seen it. Yes, weird. I know. I went to see the sequel of a film I have not seen mostly on a whim. After seeing this movie, I went for a quick recap of what the first one was about. I’ll put the basic plot of the first movie at the end of this post, but I do want to see it.

So, now, onto Baahubali 2. It’s pretty epic, full of grand sweeping scenes and some stylish fighting. The story follows Amarendra Baahubali, an adopted(?) prince of the most powerful kingdom around. He’s going to become the next king, passing over the older and biological child of the Queen. Of course that makes the biological child upset. While the story isn’t original, it is told with fun flare and style.

There’s dramatic and awesome music everywhere. I really liked the soundtrack. Pretty much all the songs got me pumped for what was happening on screen.

My only real complaint with the movie was that it was too long. The film runs at 2 hours 47 minutes. It got tiring to sit there. But I will also say I was entertained most of the time. The pacing felt good between the different acts right up until the end. That was when I probably needed to see the first film to get what was fully going on. But overall, I could understand Baahubali 2 fine.

I did get really involved with the characters. I understood where they were coming from and why they made the choices they did. Kattappa was a great character that I rooted for, but there were several other characters that I enoyed watching. Kumara was a character I really liked. He brought some great humor. Baahubali is pretty awesome all around. He’s super strong, super skilled and super nice. They movie drew me into its world and all of their cultures and traditions well.

The actions scenes were pretty great. They were over the top and fun. This epic tale is a fine way to spend three hours.

Alright, here’s some spoilers for the first film, a basic on what’s happening. Though I do feel that actually watching the second film first, there were things I wasn’t expecting on happening that I would have already known if I watched the first film. That’s because the second film kind of sandwiches the first film in terms of events.

So here are spoilers for the first film, which will spoil the second film as well. Baahubali 1: The Beginning tells the story of Mahendra Baahubali, son of Amarendra Baahubali. Mahendra gets brought into the conflict against the wicked king, which happens to be his uncle. He doesn’t know it at the time, though. He learns the story of his family and rescues his mother from the king’s clutches. And that is where Baahubali 2 finishes, with Mahendra fighting for his rightful place as king.

Baahubali 2 is really enjoyable, and one of my favorite parts was the callback to the beginning of the movie at the end. It really brough the film into a full circle.

Leave a Reply

