Milly, Book 3 Closing Thoughts

Alright, this might be the final post on Book 3 of Milly, and this will be a collection of random final thoughts. I don’t think there’s much more to add.

Will I do another book where another character is the point-of-view character? I’m not planning on it. Book 3 is currently going to be the only one. It will be Milly for the rest of the books. Now that’s not to say I won’t do it, but I’m not considering it at the moment.

Book 3 was interesting and fun to do. I don’t think I did the perspective shift as well as I could have, but it was a cool experience. In my original plan, Milly wasn’t in the book as much, but in the final version, she and Cornwilla had a decent amount of time together. I think it works better because it gave more to them compared to a few quick meetings.

As for what Milly was up to during that time, she mostly had an easier way getting through Murt. Not as much interesting stuff as compared to Cornwilla. That’s the way of things, isn’t it? The people not the point of view character tends to have easier times. And if they didn’t, it will be told either through flashback or through the character retelling it. Since neither of those things happened, you can assume Milly was just walking along during the times she was not with Cornwilla.

I also enjoyed bringing Chrillo back into this. For a quick reminder, Chrillo is the guide for the Forest Province. I was actually planning something like this since the first book, the eternal nighttime plot, I mean. That’s why I made Chrillo more sickly and weak, so he would be more affected by the lack of sunlight.

I tried to give Milly and Chrillo a good conclusion, even though Cornwilla has less reason to care. It might be a similar problem in the future if I want to bring Reting back but Milly is the point-of-view character again. Reting doesn’t really know Milly at all.

Random info, out of all the guides so far (including the 4th book), my favorite guide is Nathootha (the guide from the Mountain Province). I enjoy writing Slivhl (the guide from the Swamp Province), too.

Thinking about the series as a whole, you might think there will be 7 books in the series. I went through two provinces in the first book, so there’s six others I’ve been going through one book at a time. I think I want to have an 8th book though. What will be in that? Who knows. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

