Fifth Element, My Favorites

Fifth Element is some kind of awesome sci-fi action movie. The feel of it is really clever, and all of the characters are great. Yes, even Ruby Rhod. The Fifth Element has a dirty, somewhat tacky feel, but it is clever and fun throughout. Oh, there will be some spoilers throughout. If you like sci-fi and have not seen this movie yet, get to it!

I remember reading for the first time that the main character of the movie, Korben Dallas, never comes across the main villain. That realization kind of made me sit back and go, “Whoa.” The closest that Korben comes to knowing about the villain is that his cab company is owned by the villain. That’s it.

And that scene where some thug tries to rob Korben was the best.

The villain, Emmanuel Zorg, looks pretty goofy, and he’s over the top pretty much all the time. He has a lot of great moments sprinkled throughout the movie from selling the crates of weapons to the scene with the priest in the office.

Of course, when speaking about the characters of the movie, I can’t forget to talk about Leeloo. Her introduction was really memorable to me, and I had no idea what was going on the first time I saw it. I had to watch it a second time before I realized they were bringing the piece of alien back alive again. It’s weird. Over the course of the movie, it’s so easy for me to forget that Leeloo is actually some ancient alien and not a lab-grown woman.

And this movie is full of scenes that I just like so much. That opera scene? Yes. The bomb countdown, yes! It’s different compared to the other countdowns. This time, the bomb is diffused at 5 seconds! But then there’s a second bomb that has a 5 second timer that starts up immediately afterwards so everything still blows up. Awesome.

The visuals of the movie are great, too. I just enjoy the flavor and atmosphere of everything from the grungy city to the extravagant space hotel. I’m hoping that new Valerian film will match up to the Fifth Element, at least somewhat. Note that I have not read the original Valerian comics, so I really have no idea what to expect from it.

Leave a Reply

