DC Movie Universe

This post will just be some random thoughts I had about the DC Cinematic Universe (DCCU). It will go to whatever I can think about at the time. Then maybe I’ll come back and add in stuff later since I always think up new stuff when I am nowhere near my computer. And yes, this will have comparison to the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

Anyway, I think they have sort of a disadvantage to it in that both Batman and Superman have been done so many times before on film alone. I don’t know if that influenced their decision to change the tone of their universe to being more grim and dreary or if they are trying to do the character a different way, thus all the changes to what people know and like.

Now, I’m not saying they have to do it the same way as before. I mean, every adaptation changes something, it’s just that not all changes are well-recieved. But doing Batman and Superman again might get old for people. For the MCU, they’re doing heroes that never had a big screen appearance before, or not a well-known one (*cough*Captain America*cough*). Marvel is all new, all fresh and fun. On the other side, DCCU is telling another Superman story or Batman story.

This is also why I am more excited for Wonder Woman and Suicide Squad. They are new big screen appearances, and I was also really impressed with Wonder Woman in Batman v Superman. So I’m still looking forward to future DCCU movies, and I hope they do it better. I just hope the movies will flow better.

Now, it’s clear the DCCU is trying to play catchup and getting their Justic League rolled out as fast as possible. The MCU already has 2 successful teamups of their major heroes, so DCCU is trying to introduce theirs as fast as possible. Does having a major teamup first and then breaking off into solo movies work? It’s hard to say.

I mean, it certainly can work, but it will be a lot harder.¬†Introducing them all at once could lead to them not getting enough individual character moments, especially since you need to have a badguy, too. If there’s one thing DCCU could do, it’s having their badguys be more threatening and last for more than one movie.

As of right now, I am still looking forward to the DCCU movies, though if I had to choose, it would have to be the MCU for me. The MCU is more fun with lots of great movies already there. the DCCU provides a different feel, and that’s alright.

Leave a Reply

