Cinderella (2015)

The new live action remake of Cinderella from Disney. I didn’t see it in theaters. I caught Frozen Fever on TV. And I also caught this on TV. If you enjoyed the original Disney Version, I think this is pretty much an updated and better version. This does not follow the Brother’s Grimm version or whatever other original versions. I would find a thesaurus to use for versions, but versions.

This movie keeps the fairy godmother, the animals and pumpkins turning into carriages and all that. I will have plot spoilers here, but come on, ths story is hundreds of years old and the original Disney animated film is 65 years old. I may or may not have plot in the review depending on if I think it’s important to the point I’m trying to make.

The movie actually digs deeper into Cinderella’s life, which I really like. It shows what it was like before the stepmother and sisters moved in, how her previous experiences shaped her person. The movie also gives the prince much more characterization. Both of them are now much fuller people, and I’m glad we got to see them interact more outside of the ball. The prince also gets a pretty awesome scene at the end. It’s small, but shows a huge amount of what he’s about. Even the stepmother gets some more character.

I’m alright with the mice and cat being part of the story. The cat, while not important, looks really good. And the mice are integral to what’s going on. It’s toned down enough that the more fantastic elements don’t feel out of place. The whole preparing for the ball scene was really fun.

I did feel that the ending lines about what happened to the stepmother were unnecessary. It seem just thrown in there when it could be left out. I heard there was a scene that was cut that would have done the job much better than the line.

This is a modern remake of a classic Disney film, not the classic story. I was pretty young when I saw the animated version, but I think this one is better just due to better characters. The mice were anthropormorphic just enough without going full clothes and hat. And I totally did not recognize one of the stepsisters as Gwynne from Galavant or Hayley Atwell as Cinderella’s birth mother. The hair really threw me off.

I am quite looking forward to the Jungle Book after this.

Leave a Reply

