BBC’s Sherlock, And Sherlock in general

The Abominable Bride is out, and it is a scenario that takes the modern show of Sherlock back to it’s roots in old London. I thought it was just going to be a fun little what-if kind of thing, but it turned out to have all the dramatics and flair of the regular show while tying in to the main plot. And it’s also a fun romp back in the past, though the characters didn’t feel all that different other than John’s thoughts on women’s role and the lack of technology.

This episode was stuch a mind trip. What I liked best was the creepy feeling as you figured out something was wrong with the old London world. It started with just small terms slipping in there, but it was enough. That spinning transition shot, though. *Shakes head* At least spin it clockwise to show time passing  forwards.

What I really liked was them pointing out the perception Watson gives out with his stories versus the actual Sherlock that Watson knows. And how Watson insists that Sherlock dresses like what people expect of him. This show still has those sharp, wit jabs to break up the dramatic parts.

But on to the main reason for me to post this. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while now, and since Sherlock is back at the forefront, I think this is a good time. I wanted to compare the more recent versions of Sherlock from the show, Sherlock, Elementary and the movie, Sherlock Holmes. I will not be doing Mister Holmes as I haven’t seen it.

But as for the three above, I’m just going to talk about what I enjoy about each and which versions of the characters I prefer.

Let’s start with the shows and movie overall. The great thing about BBC’s Sherlock is their length. They are practically TV movies, and with so few episodes, each one has a lot of kick to it. They pull off some great shots and scenes, and I like the word swirl that shows Sherlock’s thoughts.

Elementary, having the most time out of the three, gives me a lot better look at their version of the characters. Also, I enjoy the frequency and their twists on the character. I particularly liked the Kitty arc. It’s a shame that Natalie Dormer is so popular now. I think the show wanted to use her more but couldn’t.

The movie Sherlock Holmes has a more action packed Holmes. It’s not that the other two can’t take care of themselves, but this Holmes does that awesome play out the fight in his mind thing and then make that happen. And then they pull out an Oh Crap when Moriarty starts doing the same. The old londol stylings are also great to watch.

Now for individual character comparions.

I like the RDJ Sherlock the best. He feels like he can function in the world around him if he puts in the effort. Of course John helps a lot, but he’s a British gentleman through and through. JLM Sherlock is my second favorite just because he seems the most human out of the three. He has major flaws, admits them and is actively trying to work on them. BC Sherlock is a huge asshole and shows no signs of wanting to change, though he is arguably the most efficient.

As for Watson, I have a tie between Jude Law and Lucy Liu. Jude Law is a Watson after many years of working with Sherlock. He feels equal to Sherlock in that if he put in the same effort, he could get the same results. Lucy Liu actually is shaping up to be a detective! Sure, she’s not a badass soldier like the other Watson’s, but she’s shown to be capable in solving her own cases. And it’s shown just how much Sherlock appreciates her. Martin Freeman, though, his John seems to be forever going to be the sidekick that does all the talking so no one punches Sherlock.

For Moriarity, I liked the movie version the best. He feels like he has his own stuff going on and Sherlock is just a nuisance. And they made him a capable boxer, plus I just like that bearded look. It makes him a more distinguished professor. BBC’s Moriarity is next. He’s creepy in the best villainous way. He feels like he turns into Sherlock’s personal nemesis. Rather than doing things for his own sake, he’s doing it to get to Sherlock. Elementary’s wasn’t on enough, really, but I enjoyed it when Moriarty was on.

I think, and don’t quote me on this, that Elementary’s Moriarity might be most similar to the original works in that Moriarity is not a huge part of Sherlock’s story. He’s just there for that one story and not everything relates to him. The world of Elementary goes on even without the threat or drive of Moriarity.

For Mycroft, I like BBC’s better, maybe because he’s pretty much a main character. Sherlock doesn’t appreciate him enough. He also feels really important and does things behind the shadow. It’s a toss up between the movie’s Mycroft and Elementary’s Mycroft. The movie version was the funnest of them all, and I just enjoyed him. And I liked the brothers not being outright antagonistic to each other. Elementary’s Mycroft was cool in that (and this is spoilers) they tricked us into thinking he’s just a restauranteur. Then bam. He’s just as smart as Sherlock and has been working with British intelligence so they wouldn’t take Sherlock instead.

Miss Hudson? BBC’s version is the only one that stands out, so that wins. Mary Watson? BBC version, of course! Lestrade/Elementary’s replacement, Gregson? Gregson. BBC Lestrade. Movie Lestrade. I like Gregson because Sherlock actually respects him unlike in the other two where Sherlock merely tolerates Lestrade as being not as bad as the rest.

Whew. This one got long. I’ll stop with the comparisons. I will end by saying I enjoy all three and am looking forward to the third Sherlock Holmes movie if it ever comes out.

Leave a Reply

