Killjoys, Season Finale

Ah, the end of the first season of Killjoys, a science fiction show about space bounty hunters. Killjoys follows a three person team as they deal with unruly people, high power politics and whatever is haunting them in their past. The characters are Dutch, a trained killer trying to escape that life. Johnny, who I don’t think I know too much about. And Davin, Johnny’s older brother that used to be a soldier before falling out with PTSD.

Compared to the other Syfy show on, Dark Matters, Killjoys is a much more serious show that has darker moments. It also comes up with a mature audience warning every time, which makes me wonder why Killjoys is on earlier. It does serve up a more gritty universe with dirty people and unsavory practices. There was one particularly gruesome episode that really deserved that violence warning. It’s the spaceship one where the team went to investigate a supposedly empty spaceship and recover it. That just hurt to watch.

The show follows the team on missions every week that expand a bit on the world they live in. At the end of the season, I had a decent idea of what everything was, though I would like perhaps a planet descriptor added onto location names. I have no idea whats on the same planet and what isn’t. Maybe it all takes place in the same area.

The crews personal interaction is powerful to watch. There are some strong performances of pain going on, both physical and mental. The atmosphere of the show sells the gritty low-class life well, too.

Overall, Killjoys has a serious tone that it somehow maintains even when the characters are joking. I never really felt levity to what they were doing, even if the characters were smirking. The main badguy presents a menacing feeling even as he is nothing but polite. The side characters, too, get their moments to shine. When they are first presented, I didn’t even think one of them would be a recurring character, but they all have their own charms and importance to the world.

They visit a wide variety of locals from compounds to farm fields. It gives good variety that helps the universe feel more alive. The finale introduces a slamming new location that I hope gets explored more.

I sometimes feel wary watching the show, like what horrible stuff will happen next, but I find what’s going on interesting. I want to know what happens next, and I hope I get the chance to find out. The show isn’t really about an adventure every week. It’s about the characters dealing with their past and what it means for their future.

Also, correct me if I’m wrong, but wasn’t the AI in the nanobot testing ship asking about Red 17? The same list that RAC agent said that Dutch was on? Intriguing. Or maybe I misremembered. Either way, it’s a science fiction drama with an action flair.

Leave a Reply

