Wayward Pines

Wayward Pines, executively produced by M. Night Shyamalan and Chad Hodge. I don’t have a huge aversion to M. Night Shyamalan, but that almost might be because I haven’t seen much of his movies. And what I did see (Sixth Sense and Unbreakable), I enjoyed. Alright, I also saw the Last Airbender just as a curiousity for how bad it is. It was… yeah. But I jumped right into Wayward Pines without any trepidation.

As with anything that has a big twisty plot, I’m wondering just how much I could say here. Should I go for full spoilers or try to dance around them? That would make it hard to talk about certain things.

I will try to avoid spoilers as the finding out of stuff is a big part of what makes the series fun. I will say that while there are twists, there’s no mind screwy type of thing going on. Everything will get an answer, and that is what I appreciate the most. I don’t have time to several season long mysteries. This is ten episodes that will get you an answer.

The show starts off mysterious with some deceptive editting used to maintain atmosphere and mood. Ethan Burke wakes up in a small town with no way out. The setup works really well and the slow build-up of the town is good. The only complaint I have is that in one case, the manipulative editting does not in any way match what’s actually going on. I am referring to a character specifically.

The style of the show changes several times throuhgout the run. I can’t list all of them because they would spoil, but it does run the gamut. I had a lot of fun watching this, and I enjoyed the atmosphere it built up. The small, creepy town had never had to much going on.

I do wonder about the possibility of a season two. It seems like the show was filmed in 2014 and only finally made it to air in 2015. Most of the actors might have moved on already due to the long delay. I would be mostly happy with just one season if it wasn’t for that last scene. Why always with the cliffhangers? Why? Oh, oops. Just mentioning there is a cliffhanger is a spoiler in itself, isn’t it? Well, you can figure it out by seeing the runtime of the episode is still not quite done.

Leave a Reply

