Milly, Design Notes

It’s been a while since I wrote I would put out some of my thoughts and design notes for Milly, so I’m going to do it now. Milly is a story that I came up with about one week before Nanowrimo. I got the idea after watching the Wizard of Oz on television. So the story of Milly is the girl gets whisked away to a magical and strange land tale.

I know Nanowrimo suggests planning things out, writing outlines and all that stuff. But I wanted to do a sort of improv writing with it. I also decided to do this book in first person because I’ve never done so before. Boy do I accidentally switch between first and third person at random when going back to my third person stories.

Though that was only for the first book. For the second book, I had an entire year to think about what could happen. I still don’t have outlines or a plan, but I do know where I want to take the story now. Looking at the pattern in the second book, you probably can, too.

Now then, I’ll round out this first design notes with the character of Milly!

I don’t mention it outright, but Milly is Australian that lives in Australia. I am not sure why I did that. She has a light accent, but due to watching a lot of American cartoons, she only uses the Australian slang when wanting to be sarcastic. For the second book, that trait dropped way down because I didn’t feel like researching Australian slang again.

Milly is adopted and her adoptive parents are the nice, kind ones. They are unable to concieve so that’s why they have three adopted children. I don’t know why, but I feel like the youngest of the three kids is named Colin.

I do have more backstory to give for Milly if I can figure out how to do it. Writing an eleven, or was it twelve? year old girl in first person is tough. I hope it’s not too unbelievable. I have no idea how young people talk nowadays. Those whippersnappers. That’s pretty much why she speaks more calmly. In story, I attribute it to her needing to move around a lot so she doesn’t have many friends her own age. Also, she is more independant, preferring to stay outside by herself.

Next time, whenever that happens, I will talke about the magical world Milly got whisked away to!

Leave a Reply

