Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D, season finale

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. In the beginning, I thought this show was alright. I like Coulson, so it was great being able to see him on a weekly basis. There will be spoilers for the season here, so go watch it if you haven’t. Or read on if you don’t care about spoilers/have watched it.

Towards the second half of the season, things started to ramp up fast. It sort of started with the Clairvoyant plot, but it was once Captain America: The Winter Soldier was released, things got going fast.

When I first heard about the show, I was decently excited for it. I already knew it wasn’t going to be as spectacular as the movies, that the more superpowers side of things weren’t going to show up. Still, I wanted to see how the normal agents deal with things, and that’s what the show delivered.

They spent a few episodes building up the characters. I am fairly okay with that as most of the main cast was interesting. They have the puncher, the pilot, two scientists (in different fields), the hacker and new recruit and Coulson, the leader. After a few episodes, the characters became pretty fleshed out and they were fun to watch interacting each other. It also turned up the tension on the second half of the season.

One thing I’m worried about is how much the show is tied into the movies. It could either work really well or really poorly. For instance, this season had to push off plot until Captain America happened. If a person watches both, though, the show feels much more complete. I wonder if they’ll continue to be tied down by movie time or will they keep going with their own plot. The cool part is that things done in the show can potentially affect the movie as well, such as the rebuilding of S.H.I.E.L.D.

The season finale, I thought was great. It definitely had the Joss Whedon touch where Coulson was chatting calmly with Nick Fury while facing the big bad of the season. The end bit where Coulson kills the big bad comes from a genre-savviness that Whedon can provide. I also laughed and cheered when George Patton returned.

As a whole, I enjoyed the season, the second part much more than the first. It really felt like the fallout from the movies was showing through. The show also rocked the main characters a bit, potentially changing one for another and permanently damaging one character. I don’t enjoy it when character’s I like die. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. so far seems to not want to kill any main characters either, so that’s good.

The season also introduced some questions while answering a bit of them. We nerly have all of why Coulson survived. The only mystery is what that blue alien is. New questions, though, is how Coulson’s revival is affecting his mind. A big part of season 2 will probably deal with what Skye is and who her parents are.

I believe a second seaons has been confirmed. I will be all on that.

Leave a Reply

