Oscars

Oscars recently aired, and I will admit that I enjoy watching the Oscars more than some of the movies they nominate. I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t get to watch the entire thing. I set it to record on DVR, yes, I’m a bad person for not watching it live. However, the time wasn’t set to long enough, so I missed the last half hour and where all of the important stuff was. I looked everything up online, though. That’ll teach me not to watch it live.

I’ve only seen one of the movies of the year, and if you read my blog, you’ll know which one. Gravity, I saw Gravity.

I do get a bit tired of the same thing getting nominated time and time again. By same, I am using it in the sense that the stories are all about the human condition, overcoming heavy adversity and other deeply serious topics like that, and mostly based on true stories, too. At least half of the best pictures were based on true stories. I wanted to see Gravity because, while realistic, it shows me something that I won’t usually see in life, and that’s the great spectacle and vastness of space.

Also, best (supporting) actor/actresses, most of them give the same kind of drama, emotional performance. When the best supporting actor/actress category rolled around, at least half of the highlight clips were of people yelling in anger, sadness or some other negative emotion. Why can’t great happiness be considered the best acting? If it’s not drama, it’s not good acting, and I don’t agree with that. Even comedy movies that get nominated have some kind of serious emotional problems somewhere along the way.

It’s to the point that there’s almost a formula for making movies that get Oscar awards. Time it right and make it about a real person. Of course you need supremely talented people as well, actors, actresses, directors and those other behind the scenes people. But if they made a happy movie not based on a real event, it wouldn’t be nominated nearly as much.

The best actors/actresses should be celebrated for playing a range of characters. It’s all too rare for them to nominate happy roles. Making people smile and believe that the character is happy also takes acting skill.

This is all just my opinion, and I still fully believe that everyone who’s nominated has great talent, not just the actors but all the technical people as well. They make great films with powerful statements and deep looks into people.

Still not something I’m into. I’m not saying, I’m just saying.

Oscars themselves were great. I liked how much Ellen Degeneres went out into the audience and interacted with them, from random chatting to taking pictures. Her opening was pretty good as well. Though I think my favorite is still Hugh Jackman’s.

Leave a Reply

