Design Notes – Dizaks

Time for some dizaks.

Coming up with a name for them was pretty tough for me. I wanted something threatening, cool, yet not overly to the point where it sounds ridiculous. How well I succeeded with dizaks? Well, guess that’s for you to decide. I also was playing The Last Story on the Wii, which had Guraks. I, for some reason, really like the rhyming phrase Gurak attack, so I wanted something that rhymed with attack. I think I rarely used the phrase dizak attack, though.

The next part of their name comes from me randomly sinking about other RPG bosses. Now I know it’s a real mythological figure, but I thought of the term Azi Dahaka from one of the Final Fantasies. Rearrange some sounds and that’s how I got to the name Dizak.

Most dizaks are carnivores, some of them are omnivores, but all of them prefer meat if they can get it.

I guess I’ll go over them in the approximate order they appeared or the order they appear in my notes.

Lukrolds were the second or so dizak I designed. They are an internal type, with magic making their bodies stronger and faster. I wanted them to be a wolf-type of creature, only a lot more monstrous.

They tend to live in wide open spaces where they hunt by chasing and surrouding prey. They are pack creatures that hunt in a team, though when in times of low food, they’ll eat each other. It is a self-destructive thing as they’ll no longer have enough numbers to hunt. Overall, they are pretty weak.

I used them as Selaf’s opponent later on because I never had her go into the arena to fight them.

Cavern Crawlers are also an internal magic type. They look like lizards with long tails. The tails have pain-causing spines. I designed the tail much earlier and based everything else around that and the name.

Based on the name, they do like dark places, primarily caves and caverns. They’ll crawl through the ceilings and lash out at anything down below. Once their prey is in pain, they’ll jump down and wrestle the prey down.

Their tails aren’t magic, just the case of them being vicious hunters. If the spines aren’t taken out, they’ll slowly travel through the body, causing intense pain all the way through. The smaller needles on the spines are almost invisible to the naked eye and can pierce through most clothes. They constantly grow new spines on their tail throughout their lives.

As Dess Mióne showed, though, you can take the spines out and use them in weapons. It’s a careful process. Dess Mióne, leather is made from cavern crawler skin. That’s how she can safely hold it without trouble.

Tetra Frogs are an external magic type though no one knows that because they don’t seem to use anything. They are giant frogs that have four eyes. Tetra means four, referring to the amount of eyes they have. Yep, very impressinve coming-up-with-names skill there.

They have almost 360 degree field of vision and their eyes are full of magic. They can see life energy, allowing them to track even the smallest of prey in the darkest of places, though they usually don’t. Tetra Frogs prefer to hunt with their long tongue, snapping it out and back at lightning speeds.

They live mostly in woodlands area with a river or pond running through it.

More dizaks next time!

Leave a Reply

