Sitcoms

Well, this is another semi-random topic from me. This time, it’s about old sitcoms. By old, I mean around the 1990’s. I recently started catching reruns of the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air again, and then came several reunion articles on these old shows which got me thinking about them even more.

Growing up, I really enjoyed watching sitcoms. They were my favorite genre of television. And I think I was under ten at the time, definitely in elementary school. My parents some of the sitcoms I wanted to watch was pretty weird. One of the ones I really liked was Frasier, which my parents were against since the main character was 40 or something. I liked watching the neuroticness of Frasier and Niles, though.

Other sitcoms I watched included the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, Boy Meets World, Friends, Everybody Loves Raymond, Seinfeld (of course). My TV watching really revolved around sitcoms. Seinfeld was good, but it wasn’t my favorite. If there were conflicts, I would tend to watch the other show.

Seinfeld still provided many memorable moments. One I really liked was the episode where Jerry accidentally slams the car trunk onto a man’s fingers. The man things Jerry is some kind of badass for the rest of the episode. He somehow gets trapped in the trunk and then overheads Jerry laughing about making someone bothering Elaine disappear. It was an imaginary problem, but that man still burst in at the end of the episode accusing Jerry of murdering the dead man’s funeral Jerry was attending. I thought that was an awesome setup throughout the episode.

I even watched Wings and Taxi, though I saw Christopher Lloyd first in Back to the Future and then Toonstruck. Oddly enough, the one old sitcom I barely watched was Cheers, therefore I didn’t know Frasier’s old drinking buddies. Ted Danson on CSI is pretty great, though, and I actually saw the episode where he appeared in Taxi.

Looking around the cable channels, a lot of these are on rerun again. I might start picking up a few of them to watch. They’re all sill great now. The difference between shows then and now is pretty striking. Sex and sexiness weren’t as important. Both men and women dressed neater, with less emphasis on looking sexy and more on looking elegant. I do think the idea that sex sells has been taken a bit too far in recent television. There are a lot more jokes to do.

But I’m glad for rediscovering these great old sitcoms and having all the new style sitcoms, too. Variety is the spice of life, and perhaps I watch way too much TV. For people that have not seen most of the old sitcoms, I would recommend watching them. They’re well-crafted shows that balance humor and seriousness. With DVR, it’s easier than ever to find them.

Edit: Wow, I can’t believe I forgot about Saved by the Bell. Weird, too, since I’m watching White Collar, which has Tiffani-Amber Thiessen in it. That show was pretty good, as well, though I didn’t watch it as much as others, the show was, and is, still great fun. There might be other’s I’m forgetting, but I’m sure I enjoyed them if I watched them.

All those shows back then, while not totally child suitable, wasn’t that bad as far as allowing every age group to enjoy. There was a lot of things done differently back then, but they’re still more than enjoyable now.

Well, that’s my nostalgia trip. I should go find some Cheers to watch.

Leave a Reply

