Thinking about Nanowrimo

November is still a few months away, but I’m thinking about it. Not too much, though. I know they suggest to plan things out to have an easier time, but it does seem like a fun time to just try to write and see what comes out. But I inevitably will plan it just because I think about the stories during the day. Then I write them down because I don’t want to forget.

I’ve had a few, so it’s tough to pick which one to write. Two of them are fantasy stories that take place in a medieval timeframe. One is kind of a superhero story, except with a magical sword that grants powers instead. The archenemy is a witch. The other story is somewhat like a traditional fairy tale with an evil king that kidnaps a princess. Both of them have twists, of course. They aren’t things I want to go into right now, that would spoil the fun of actually reading them if I ever wrote them.

My third idea was doing some kind of slice-of-life story meant for girls. I like slice-of-life stories a lot, especially ones based around comedy. I also tend to enjoy writing female characters more than male. So combine the two and get a female cast where the characters hang out and have fun. It’ll have a rainbow theme to it, so at least seven main characters, plus side characters. I hope that’s not too much.

The most recent idea I had is kind of like a mundane magical setting that takes place on an island. It also happens a bit into the future. The island is full of leftover machinery and facilities. I think stories that are supposed to take place in the real world, yet feel really fantastic without the use of anything overtly fantasy is pretty cool. A good example is the adventure game Syberia. I really enjoyed the atmosphere of everything.

So far, I’m leaning towards my most recent idea, until it gets supplanted by another one. Who knows what will happen by the time November rolls around? Oh well.

Leave a Reply

