Random notes about the main character

There will be m(ild)/(ajor) spoilers here, so I do suggest you finish reading the book first ^_^

The main character’s name, if you’ve gotten far enough, is Selaf. It’s not her real name but one that was given to her. Selaf is an anagram of False, which refers to the way she constantly lies. Throughout the book, I never make the distinction that she’s lying, though I hope the context made it clear.

Originally, her given name was going to be Furfur. If you know anything about it, you can probably see some parts of her that reflect that. It also drove Runi’s appearance and magic. I changed her name to Selaf because it would be weird if only a few characters were named such, and I didn’t want to make every character be named after that group.

Selaf can be such a tough character to write at times because I know she wouldn’t get involved with a lot of things that are going on in the world. Though I do enjoy main characters that aren’t heroic in the least. In my mind, and I’m going to use TV Tropes here, she’s designed as The Dragon. That’s why, for the most part, she doesn’t drive the plot but kick ass and take names instead. I do plan to change that later on as develops out of her shell, though.

I haven’t decided if she would become more heroic, or stay rather selfish and an anti-hero.

She’s not based on anyone I know. In fact, I don’t think I consciously put in people I know into my stories. They might slip in unconsciously, though. I don’t think I plan out characters well in advance. I usually have some basic personality traits, and then I build back story and other developments later. Sometimes, that neccesitates going back and rewriting stuff to make it fit better with future revelations.

As for her real name, I do have one in mind. I’m not sure if I’ll ever reveal it, however. It’s not really important to her character at all, and I think it makes her care less about being free and more about gaining power.

When I first designed her appearance, I’m not sure why (other than that I like exotic eye colors) I gave her pink irises. I do have a reason for it now. It’ll be revealed in Book 2!

 

Leave a Reply

